Despite Sessions’ bluster, only 29 senators support Hamilton filibuster.

hamiltonOvercoming a failed filibuster attempt by Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL), the Senate voted 70-29 this evening to end debate on President Obama’s first nominee to the federal bench, clearing Judge David Hamilton’s path to become a judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. Ten Republicans broke with Sessions:

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
John Cornyn (R-TX)
Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
John Thune (R-SD)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
Susan Collins (R-ME)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Many of Sessions’ implausible attacks on Judge Hamilton appeared more at home on Glenn Beck’s show than they did on the Senate floor.  At one point, Sessions embraced false claims that Hamilton gave Muslims preferential treatment over Christians. Sessions also deemed Hamilton unfit for the bench because Hamilton spent one month working for ACORN in 1979. Yet, for all of his impotent rage against President Obama’s first nominee, Sessions couldn’t even convince much of his own caucus to support a filibuster. Hopefully, Sessions’ utter powerlessness against Hamilton’s nomination will embolden Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) to move forward with dozens of other Obama nominees currently being held up in the Senate.