At Least Seven Senate Democrats Refuse To Rule Out Extending Bush Tax Cuts For The Rich

At least seven Senate Democrats have refused to rule out extending the Bush tax cuts for the wealthiest Americans, which are set to expire along with the rest of the Bush tax cut package at the end of the year, according to The Hill. The seven are: Sens. Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Jon Tester (D-MT), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Ben Nelson (D-NE), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), and Jim Webb (D-VA). The White House, meanwhile, has said that President Obama will not agree to extend the tax cuts for the wealthiest two percent of Americans. “He will not. Could I be more clear?” asked White House Press Secretary Jay Carney earlier this month.