Tumblr Icon RSS Icon

Republican Senators Hit By Climate Disasters Split On Funding For Relief

By Brad Johnson  

"Republican Senators Hit By Climate Disasters Split On Funding For Relief"


google plus icon

In a 61-38 vote yesterday, the U.S. Senate defeated a Republican filibuster of $6.4 billion in emergency funding for federal climate disaster response, after the worst year in history for climate disasters. A small minority of the Republicans who have been hit by the floods, droughts, wildfires, and storms fueled by greenhouse pollution joined every Democrat in support of the bill: Sens. Roy Blunt (MO), Scott Brown (MA), Susan Collins (ME), Dean Heller (NV), John Hoeven (ND), Olympia Snowe (ME), Pat Toomey (PA), and David Vitter (LA). Republican senators representing some of the most devastated states, such as Oklahoma, Kansas, and Texas, voted to block the disaster relief.

‹ Are ‘Green’ Jobs and Clean Energy Today Analogous to Information Technology in the 1990s?

Grassroots Events Across The West Show Continued Support For Ending Big Oil Subsidies ›

Comments are closed.