Tumblr Icon RSS Icon

48 States Have Elected Openly LGBT Lawmakers

By Igor Volsky  

"48 States Have Elected Openly LGBT Lawmakers"


google plus icon

Denis Dison notes that “last week’s news that Southhaven, Miss., Mayor Greg Davis informed a local newspaper that he is gay means just two U.S. states remain on the list of those with no openly LGBT elected officials — Alaska and South Dakota.” “That doesn’t mean these states aren’t served by LGBT elected officials, just that none have self-identified publicly either in speeches or in the media,” he says.


‹ 2011: A ‘Banner Year’ For LGBT Equality

San Francisco Archbishop Shuts Down Gay-Friendly Church Event, Calls It ‘Inappropriate For The Season Of Advent’ ›

By clicking and submitting a comment I acknowledge the ThinkProgress Privacy Policy and agree to the ThinkProgress Terms of Use. I understand that my comments are also being governed by Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, or Hotmail’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policies as applicable, which can be found here.