Uruguay Becomes 12th Country To Recognize Same-Sex Marriage

Posted on

"Uruguay Becomes 12th Country To Recognize Same-Sex Marriage"

With a vote of 71-21, the Uruguay House of Representatives approved same-sex marriage on Wednesday. With the Senate’s approval last week and the President’s promise to sign it, Uruguay is officially the 12th country to legalize same-sex marriage. It is only the second in Latin America, along with Argentina, although Mexico City offers same-sex marriage and the Mexican Supreme Court has ruled that those marriages should be recognized throughout the country, so it could follow along soon enough. The other ten countries are Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, and Sweden. France may soon become the 13th.

The new Uruguay law, which won’t take effect for about three months, will eliminate any gender boundaries to marriage, such that any two consenting individuals can become spouses. All couples will now be allowed to adopt children as well.


Watch a video clip of the moment the bill passed, via the Associated Press:

« »

By clicking and submitting a comment I acknowledge the ThinkProgress Privacy Policy and agree to the ThinkProgress Terms of Use. I understand that my comments are also being governed by Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, or Hotmail’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policies as applicable, which can be found here.