Meet The 21 Countries That Don’t Believe In Protecting LGBT People From Violence

CREDIT: Twitter

On Friday afternoon, the United Nations Human Rights Commission approved a resolution opposing violence and discrimination against people based on their sexual orientation or gender identity by a vote of 25-14 with 7 abstentions.

Among the 21 who countries who rejected or abstained from the measure were several commonwealth countries that still have laws criminalizing homosexuality, including Botswana, Kenya, Namibia, Maldives, and Sierra Leone. Other countries who rejected it were Muslim nations like Kuwait, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia, all of which punish same-sex behavior — particularly between men — in some fashion.

Two years ago, Russia successfully stripped LGBT protections from a similar measure. They unsurprisingly rejected this year’s inclusive resolution.

China and India both abstained from the vote, as did Kazakhstan and Congo.

The text of the resolution simply condemns violence and discrimination against LGBT people:

Expressing grave concern at acts of violence and discrimination, in all regions of the world, committed against individuals because of their sexual orientation and gender identity,

Welcoming positive developments at the international, regional and national levels in the fight against violence and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity…

Among the countries that supported the measure were the U.S., the U.K., South Africa, Vietnam, Cuba, Korea, Argentina, Japan, Czech Republic, and Peru. (Note: Not all members of the U.N. sit on the Human rights Commission.)