Washington Post Falsely Claims ‘Most Congressional Democrats’ Oppose Redeployment of U.S. Troops

Today, the Washington Post’s editorial board attacked John Murtha’s proposal to redeploy U.S. troops out of Iraq as an “extreme” measure not supported by congressional Democrats:

Mr. Murtha’s candidacy is troubling for several reasons, beginning with his position on the war in Iraq. … He said the United States …should “redeploy as soon as practicable,” an extreme step that most congressional Democrats oppose.

While the Post does not agree with Murtha’s position on Iraq, House Democrats do. As of today, the majority of House Democrats in the outgoing 109th Congress – 105 of 202 – not only agree with Murtha’s position, they have cosponsored Murtha’s resolution calling for our troops to be “redeployed at the earliest practicable date” out of Iraq. In the 110th Congress, the number is likely to be even higher because many successful candidates called for redeployment during the campaign.

Congressional leaders in the Senate also support redeployment. Sen. Carl Levin (D-MI), who is expected to take over the Senate Armed Services Committee, said Sunday, “We need to begin a phased redeployment of forces from Iraq in four to six months.” Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) said redeployment “should start within the next few months.”

The full list of 105 cosponsors of Murtha’s bill:

Rep. Neil Abercrombie (D-HI)
Rep. Thomas Allen (D-ME)
Rep. Joe Baca (D-CA)
Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
Rep. Timothy Bishop (D-NY)
Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Rep. Robert Brady (D-PA)
Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL)
Rep. George Butterfield (D-NC)
Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA)
Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Rep. Julia Carson (D-IN)
Rep. Donna Christensen (D-VI)
Rep. William Clay (D-MO)
Rep. James Clyburn (D-SC)
Rep. John Conyers (D-MI)
Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
Rep. Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Rep. William Delahunt (D-MA)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Rep. Michael Doyle (D-PA)
Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Rep. Lane Evans (D-IL)
Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA)
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
Rep. Bob Filner (D-CA)
Rep. Barney Frank (D-MA)
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
Rep. Luis Guti©rrez (D-IL)
Rep. Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)
Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ)
Rep. Michael Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Jesse Jackson (D-IL)
Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)
Rep. William Jefferson (D-LA)
Rep. Eddie Johnson (D-TX)
Rep. Stephanie Jones (D-OH)
Rep. Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Rep. Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI)
Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
Rep. John Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Rep. Edward Markey (D-MA)
Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA)
Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN)
Rep. James McDermott (D-WA)
Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Cynthia McKinney (D-GA)
Rep. Michael McNulty (D-NY)
Rep. Martin Meehan (D-MA)
Rep. Kendrick Meek (D-FL)
Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
Rep. Michael Michaud (D-ME)
Rep. Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-CA)
Rep. George Miller (D-CA)
Rep. Alan Mollohan (D-WV)
Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI)
Rep. James Moran (D-VA)
Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA)
Rep. Eleanor Norton (D-DC)
Rep. James Oberstar (D-MN)
Rep. John Olver (D-MA)
Rep. Major Owens (D-NY)
Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Rep. William Pascrell (D-NJ)
Rep. Edward Pastor (D-AZ)
Rep. Donald Payne (D-NJ)
Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
Rep. Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY)
Rep. Steven Rothman (D-NJ)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL)
Rep. Timothy Ryan (D-OH)
Rep. Martin Sabo (D-MN)
Rep. Linda S¡nchez (D-CA)
Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
Rep. Janice Schakowsky (D-IL)
Rep. Robert Scott (D-VA)
Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
Rep. Hilda Solis (D-CA)
Rep. Fortney Stark (D-CA)
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
Rep. Michael Thompson (D-CA)
Rep. John Tierney (D-MA)
Rep. Edolphus Towns (D-NY)
Rep. Tom Udall (D-NM)
Rep. Nydia Vel¡zquez (D-NY)
Rep. Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)
Rep. Diane Watson (D-CA)
Rep. Anthony Weiner (D-NY)
Rep. Robert Wexler (D-FL)
Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)
Rep. David Wu (D-OR)