John Boehner (R-OH)

has just been elected the new House Minority Leader.

UPDATE: Hotline is reporting that Boehner’s margin of victory was 168 to 27.

UPDATE II: Rep. Roy Blunt (R-MO), the outgoing Majority Whip, has been elected House Minority Whip. The Hill notes, “Blunt defeated [Rep. John] Shadegg 137-57 for minority whip despite last week’s midterm election blowout. Some believed Blunt would be cast aside as tainted by long membership of the leadership team, but his colleagues opted to stick with lawmaker who knows the ins and out of House rules.”