Waxman defeats Dingell to win chairmanship of House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Posted on

"Waxman defeats Dingell to win chairmanship of House Energy and Commerce Committee."

Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA) will replace Rep. John Dingell (D-MI) as the chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, which has jurisdiction over global warming legislation. Waxman beat Dingell, currently the longest-serving member of the House, in a secret ballot vote of the Democratic caucus by 137-122. Yesterday, the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee also voted 25-22 in favor of Waxman.


The pollution industry strongly backed Dingell, who often blocked environmental reforms, and fear-mongered that Waxman’s chairmanship would be “scary.”


NBC’s Andrea Mitchell reports: “Sources inside the Democratic House Caucus say the vote against outgoing Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Rep. John Dingell turned partly along generational lines – with young turks lining up against the old – and partly because of Dingell’s record on environmental issues.”


,The Crypt’s Ryan Grim reports that “backers of ousted chairman John Dingell (D-Mich.) are now scrambling to hold on to their subcommittee chairmanships.”

« »

By clicking and submitting a comment I acknowledge the ThinkProgress Privacy Policy and agree to the ThinkProgress Terms of Use. I understand that my comments are also being governed by Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, or Hotmail’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policies as applicable, which can be found here.