BREAKING: Michele Bachmann Wins Ames Straw Poll

Rep. Michele Bachmann won today’s Ames, Iowa Republican Straw Poll today with 4,823 votes — edging Rep. Ron Paul by just under 200 votes.  Former Minnesota Governor Tim Pawlenty took third place with 2,293 votes.  Rounding out the order were former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum (1657 votes), Herman Cain (1456 votes), Texas Governor Rick Perry (718 votes), former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney (567 votes), former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich (385 votes), former Utah Governor Jon Huntsman (69 votes), and Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (35 votes).  Along with Perry, who just announced his presidential campaign today, Huntsman and Romney had not made an effort to formally contest the Ames Straw Poll.  Finally, the Iowa State Fair Butter Cow reportedly received three write-in votes.