John Boehner Re-Elected House Speaker

In a closer-than-usual vote, Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) was elected to a second term as Speaker of the House on Thursday, with 220 votes. Nine members of the Republican majority cast protest votes for others including Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA), former Rep. Allen West (R-FL), and former Comptroller General David Walker. Boehner will lead the 113th Congress with an eight-seat-smaller majority than in the 112th Congress.