Tumblr Icon RSS Icon

Damn You, Central Time

Posted on

"Damn You, Central Time"

Share:

google plus icon

Earlier this afternoon, a friend’s gchat status had a joke about how the real reason George W. Bush canceled his convention appearance was that he didn’t want to miss the Gossip Girl season premiere. Which reminded me — I didn’t want to miss the Gossip Girl season premiere. However, I forgot that through some odd quirk of the space-time continuum, television shows air one hour earlier in Central Time than they do in Eastern or Pacific time so I missed it. Oh well, more time to read Red State, Blue State, Rich State, Poor State I guess.

But does anyone know why they do this? Yes, I understand that 9PM Eastern is the same as 8PM Central, but shows that air at 9PM Eastern (i.e. 6PM Pacific) also air at 9PM Pacific (i.e., midnight Eastern) on the west coast so I don’t see why it wouldn’t be technically possible to just put the 9PM show on at 9PM local time everywhere, right?

« »

By clicking and submitting a comment I acknowledge the ThinkProgress Privacy Policy and agree to the ThinkProgress Terms of Use. I understand that my comments are also being governed by Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, or Hotmail’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policies as applicable, which can be found here.