Waxman defeats Dingell to win chairmanship of House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA) will replace Rep. John Dingell (D-MI) as the chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, which has jurisdiction over global warming legislation. Waxman beat Dingell, currently the longest-serving member of the House, in a secret ballot vote of the Democratic caucus by 137–122. Yesterday, the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee also voted 25–22 in favor of Waxman.

The pollution industry strongly backed Dingell, who often blocked environmental reforms, and fear-mongered that Waxman’s chairmanship would be “scary.”


NBC’s Andrea Mitchell reports: “Sources inside the Democratic House Caucus say the vote against outgoing Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Rep. John Dingell turned partly along generational lines — with young turks lining up against the old — and partly because of Dingell’s record on environmental issues.”


,The Crypt’s Ryan Grim reports that “backers of ousted chairman John Dingell (D-Mich.) are now scrambling to hold on to their subcommittee chairmanships.”